#Public Broadcasting: How to Create an Independent Media (Part ІI)

April 7, 2017

Elections of the Chairman of the Board of NSTU will take place on April 10. This day, members of the Supervisory Board of NSTU will choose a person who will manage Public Broadcasting for 4 years.

There will be 8 candidates in the election: Zurab Alasania, Roman Vibranovsky, Yuriy Daragan, Alexander Zyrin, Oleksandr Zorka, Oleksandr Kovalenko, Oleg Nalyvayko and Marek Sierrant. Voting will take place in two rounds: in order to win the first candidate has to score 9 votes, in the second round the winner is the one supported by a simple majority of the members of the Supervisory Board.

The candidates told about their strategy and program of reforming the Public Broadcasting at an international conference ‘Independence of Public Broadcasting Governance – the Key to Successful Reform’. The second part of this event was devoted to the discussion of candidates’ proposals. The Centre for Democracy and Rule of Law, together with the Council of Europe Office, organized the conference.

The full version of the material is available in Ukrainian: https://cedem.org.ua/news/suspilne-yak-stvoryty-nezalezhnogo-movnyka-chastyna-ii/